Mwase maintains RVG’s squad for CHAN qualifier


Malawi National Football Team caretaker coach Meke Mwase has named his first 28 member squad to go into camp and start preparations for a 2020 CAF Chan Qualifier against Eswatini next week.

The majority of the players are those that played for the former Flames head coach Ronny Van Geneugden before the expiry of his contract last month.

Meke Mwase has named first squad

Bullets left back Precious Sambani is missing on the list as he is nursing an injury he sustained in February this year.

The team will be camping at the Mpira Village in Blantyre and will start training on Tuesday morning.

Mwase has only included Be Forward Wanderers forward Zicco Mkanda whilst Nyasa Big Bullets striker Chiukepo Msowoya and Gastin Simkonda have all been recalled after missing out of Morocco’s game last month.

The following is the full squad:


  1. Ernest Kakhobwe – NMC Bullets
  2. Richard Chipuwa – Be Forward Wanderers
  3. Rabson Chiyenda – NMC Bullets
  4. Brighton Munthali – Silver Strikers


  1. Stanley Sanudi – Be Forward Wanderers
  2. John Lanjesi – NMC Bullets
  3. Peter Cholopi – Be Forward Wanderers
  4. Gomezgani Chirwa – NMC Bullets
  5. Denis Chembezi – Be Forward Wanderers
  6. Trevor Kalema – Silver Strikers
  7. Yamikani Fodya – NMC Bullets
  8. Charles Petro – NMC Bullets


  1. Chikoti Chirwa – Red Lions
  2. Alfred Manyozo – Be Forward Wanderers
  3. Singa Simeon – Be Forward Wanderers
  4. Micium Mhone – Blue Eagles
  5. Felix Zulu – Be Forward Wanderers
  6. Levison Maganizo – Silver Strikers
  7. Mike Mkwate – NMC Bullets
  8. Chimwemwe Idana – NMC Bullets
  9. Peter Banda – NMC Bullets



  1. Stain Davie – TN Stars
  2. Khuda Muyaba – Silver Strikers
  3. Schumacher Kuwali – Blue Eagles
  4. Chiukepo Msowoya – NMC Bullets
  5. Patrick Phiri – NMC Bullets
  6. Gastin Simukonda – Moyale Barracks
  7. Zicco Nkanda – Be Forward Wanderers

One Comment