14 October 2016 Last updated at: 1:52 PM

Just in: APM appoints MEC Chairperson

President Peter Mutharika has appointed a new Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) chairperson.

According to a statement from the Office of the President and Cabinet (OPC)  this  follows the nomination by the Judicial Service Commission.

Peter Mutharika- UN

Peter Mutharika: Has made the appointment.

Mutharika, has appointed  Dr Jane Mayemu Ansah, SC as the Chairperson of the Malawi Electoral Commission.

Yesterday Mutharika also appointed four legal people as judges of high court of Malawi.

Mutharika is in USA and he will be back on Sunday 16 th October , 2016, according to government.

Ansah’s replaces Maxon Mbendera who died some months ago.

147 Comments On "Just in: APM appoints MEC Chairperson"