27 players into Flames camp for Cecafa cup

Malawi Flames- cosafa

Malawi national football team head coach Enerst Mtawali has named a 27 man squad for camping ahead of Cecafa Cup which is schedule to kick off from November 21 to December 6.

Malawi Flames- cosafa
Flames players in camp.

The squad is compromised of four professional players and 23 locals from which Mtawali has handed first team call ups to five players.

Civo Service United’s duo of Nelson Kangunje and Dan Msimuko, Mighty Wanderer’s Jabulani Linje and Fisd Wizards midfielder Isaac Mwale have all been handed their first senior national team call up. Mtawali has included Gerald Phiri Jnr, and Mozambican trio of Chawanangwa Kaonga, Simplex Nthara and Chimango Kayira into the squad which has already started assembling from Monday afternoon at Chiwembe Technical Centre in Blantyre.

Below is the full squad list:

GOALKEEPERS 1. Simplex Nthala 2. Richard Chipuwa 3. Brighton Munthali

DEFENDERS 1. Stanley Sanudi 2. Pilirani Zonda 3. Boston Kabango 4. Miracle Gabeya 5. Yamikani Fodya 6. John Lanjesi 7. Sankhani Mkandawire 8. Chisomo Mpachika

MIDFIELDERS 1. John Banda 2. Isaac Kaliati 3. Levison Maganizo 4. Dalitso Sailesi 5. Nelson Kangunje 6. Isaac Mwale 7. Harvey Mkacha 8. Yamikani Chester 9. Daniel Msimuko 10. Chimango Kayira 11. Gerald Phiri

STRIKERS 1. Chiukepo Msowoya 2. Schumacher Kuwali 3. Manase Chiyesa 4. Jabulani Linje 5. Chawanangwa Kaonga



  1. its an impressing selection. Bigup mtawali now i think player are selected based on their merit *kangunje the silencer!*

  2. thats a perfect team,jealous down inu ma haters,u r even hating ur fellow malawians,………..mungatimba bola imwe?

  3. mukuvutikilanji kuitana squad yonse akochi…tangobukani mauletsi asinthitse nyengo za flames…mapuleya anoma samadziwa kugoletsa angotitayitsa nthawi..abwezeni

  4. Exposed….l think a tool box is vehemently needed here, some nuts seem to requires urgent tightening for the reporters’ head to functions normally & it’s only then he/she ‘ll post well balanced news

  5. Your page is a disgrace to journalism. All you know is copy and paste, parroting and plagiarism. Please verify your copied stories before posting you fools. Alaa!

  6. Bola Adzatichititsenso Manyazi Ngati Ku COSAFA kuja

Comments are closed.