CECAFA snubs Malawi


The Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA) has snubbed Malawi national football team from taking part in this year’s Cecafa tournament, Malawi24 can reveal.

Flames.; Forsaken.

The Council met today in Addis ababa, Ethiopia, where it conducted a draw and set fixturers of how the competition will run from 21st November to 6th December, and the Flames were not included in the draw.

Twelve nations have been grouped into three groups of which defending champions Kenya will face Uganda, Burundi and Djibouti in group B. The full groups are as follows:

Group A -Ethiopia -Zambia -Tanzania -Somalia

Group B – Kenya – Uganda – Burundi – Djibouti

Group C – Sudan – Rwanda – South Sudan – Zanzibar Cecafa three times champions, Malawi, are currently in camp where they are preparing for the same competition.

When Malawi24 contacted Football Association of Malawi Competition Manager Gomezgani Zakazaka for a comment, he said he was not at the office. The Flames won the Cecafa championship in 1978, 1979, and 1988.



Comments are closed.