18 teams to participate in Simso League


The Northern Region Football Association (NRFA) has released a list of 18 teams which meet requirements to participate in the 2020 Simso League.

The number of teams varies each season but the association is allowed to approve up to 20 teams to participate in the league

According to the General Secretary Masiya Nyasulu, many teams applied to participate but some were rejected for failing to meet requirements.

“The final list has been published after thoroughly assessing the capability of teams in terms of sponsorship, previous record and their financial status,” said Nyasulu.

Some notable teams that are missing on the list are Zolozolo United, Manyamula United and Chintheche FC.

On the other hand, Raiply FC and Kawalazi are back in the league after years of absence.

Other teams are Chitipa Stars, Ng’onga, Bright Stars, Chibwana, Kavukula and Kande, while Chilimba, Embangweni, Ekwendeni United, Baka City, Luwinga United and Rumphi United are the old guards in the league.

The league is expected to kick-off on 11 April if the government will lift the ban on public gatherings imposed due to COVID-19, that also forced the Super League not to kick-off last weekend.

Northern Region Football league remains the regional football league with the lowest sponsorship compared to the Thumbs up Southern Region and Chipiku Central Region leagues.