Mutharika must fall – Chakwera


… says APM operating illegally, calls on Malawians to march to court

Malawi Congress Party (MCP) leader Lazarus Chakwera says President Peter Mutharika is operating illegally and on borrowed time since people stole the election for him.

Chakwera: it was daylight robbery

Chakwera said this at a press briefing which was conducted at the party’s headquarters offices in Lilongwe on Friday, four days after the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) declared Mutharika winner of the May 21 presidential election with 38 percent of 5.1 million votes cast.

Chakwera came second in the election with 35 percent of the vote.

The MCP president said there are people who rigged the polls for Mutharika who is also Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) leader.

“The people who stole this election for him were expecting that once he gets sworn in and inaugurated, their crimes will be buried, the money they have been paid will be hidden, and we will all give up on reclaiming our stolen rights and votes while we suffer in silence for another five years,” Chakwera said.

He added that he considered applying to the court to stop Mutharika’s swearing in ceremony and inauguration ceremonies but decided that this would not be in the best interest of the country because the protracted absence of a President and Cabinet would disturb the state’s service provision and cause millions of innocent Malawians to suffer.

“Still, I am aware that the DPP’s illegal ascension to the presidency has already started to inflict suffering on innocent Malawians. As I speak, dozens of civil servants, soldiers, and police officers are being unceremoniously transferred from urban areas to the remotest rural areas for simply supporting MCP or for coming from regions where most people voted for MCP.

“In addition, dozens of young people in the Central Region have recently been arrested and MCP offices have been raided and teargassed without provocation by cadets masquerading as police officers.

“These are the lawless acts of a mafia state, and it is imperative that we end this state capture by thieves in order to end these abuses and ensure that those committing them face the law,” he said.

Chakwera then revealed that he has started the process of filing an application at the High Court to nullify results of the presidential election.

He called on people with evidence of rigging by MEC officials to report to the MCP head office.

He said: “If you served as an election monitor of any party and have in your possession copies of result sheets, I ask you to make those available to us so that the truth can be known. If you lead an organization that wishes to stand up for justice, I urge you to come out in the open and take part in this case as friends of the court.”

The MCP leader also urged Malawians to join thousands who will march peacefully to the High Court from the day the hearing starts to the day it is concluded.



  1. Ndichifukwa amboni savota chifukwa zilibe phindu,zisiyeni zitsiru zidzikangana



    1. President prof . Arthur Peter Munthalika from Thyolo

    2.Lloyd Muhara Chief Secretary at Office of the president from Phalombe.

    3. N. Saukira NFRA Chief Executive office r from Thyolo district.

    4.T. Malata Malawi Revenue Authority CEO from Thyolo district.

    5.R. Kamoto MERA Chief Executive officer from Chiradzulu district.

    6.General Supuni Phiri Army Commander MDF from Mulanje district.

    7.General C. Namangale deputy commander MDF from Thyolo district.

    8.A. Malata MUST vice chancellor married in Thyolo district.

    9. A. Sumbuleta MBC Chief Executive Officer from Mulanje district.

    10.R. Jose Malawi Police deputy Inspector general from Mulanje.

    11.E. Mwapasa Malawi Police deputy Inspector general Chiradzulu.

    12.Chinsinga Registration Bureau Principal Secretary from Thyolo.

    13.Peter Mukhito State House Chief of Staff from Chiradzulu district.

    14. C. Magalasi State house Executive assistant from Chiradzulu.

    15.M. Bamusi State house special assistant from Thyolo district.

    16.F. Mphepo State House political advisor from Mulanje district.

    17.T. Paul Phiri State House Chief Executive Officer from Thyolo district.

    18.Elvis Thodi Office of the president Director General from Thyolo.

    19.Dr. Munlo Office of the president Principal Secretary from Thyolo/Chiradzul.

    20.George Mkondiwa Office of the president Ambassador from Phalombe.

    21.H. Chilabade Office of the president Reform Principal Secretary from Thyolo

    22.A. Juwayeyi Financial Intelligence Unit Director from Thyolo district.

    23.Charles Namondo OPC Ambassador to China from Thyolo district.

    24.E. Sawerengera OPC Ambassador to the U.N. from Thyolo district.

    25.Mrs.Aggrey Mussa OPC High Commissioner to Kenya from Chiradzulu.

    26.F. Nihoriya OPC Ambassador to USA from Thyolo district.

    27.J. Mwandidya Office of the president CSM from Phalombe district.

    28.Dr. Ntupanyama Office of the president Principal Secretary from Thyolo.

    29 .H. Sapala Disabilities Director from Thyolo district.

    30.Katopola Tourism Director from Thyolo district.

    31.Dalitso Kambabe Reserve Bank Governor from Thyolo district.

    32.G. Kabango Reserve Bank deputy governor from Mulanje district.

    33.T. Sitimawina EP&D principal secretary from Thyolo district.

    33.R. Magaleta Ministry of education principal secretary from Thyolo district.

    34.E.Maganga Ministry of Agriculture principal secretary from Thyolo district.

    35.Dr. M. Magwira Ministry of Health principal secretary from Thyolo district.

    36.Ben Botolo Treasury Principal Secretary from Mulanje district.

    37:. James Naphambo Chairperson Blantyre Water Board from Thyolo district.

    38. James Masumbu Chairperson of ADMARC from Mulanje district.

    39.Mr. Liabunya Chief Executive Officer EGENCO from Mulanje district.

    40.M. Chitimbe OPC principal secretary Transport from Mulanje district.

    41.George Saonda Public Events Director from Thyolo district.

    42.C. Chipungu Office of the president without portfolio from Thyolo district.

    43. B. Chisakamile Office of the president Coordinator from Thyolo district.

    44. J. Namkwenya Principal Secretary Office of the president from Thyolo.

    45. . Kaopa Medical Stores deputy head from Thyolo district.

    46.Perks Ligoya Chairperson ESCOM from Thyolo district.

    47.E. Hausi ADL director from Thyolo district.

    48.Chataika ADL Chief Executive Officer from Thyolo district.

    49.C. Kumbemba MTIC Chief Executive Officer from Chiradzulu district.

    59.G. Gonani CRW Chief Executive Officer from Thyolo district.

    51.Chikuni Lilongwe Water za Chief Executive Officer from Mulanje.

    52.J. Mathanga ESCOM deputy Chairman from Chiradzulu district.

    53.G. Hiwa Law commission Commissioner from Mulanje district.

    54.A. Maliro Gaming Board Chief Executive Officer from Chiradzulu district.

    55.Ms. Napolo Chief Executive Officer Malawi Housing from Thyolo district.

    56.Ms. Mangulenje Chief Executive Officer of MARDEF from Mulanje district
    57. Malata Roads Fund administration CEO from Thyolo (the alleged secret lover of Mr. Lloyd Muhara Chief Secretary to the Office

    _*funso nkumati kodi ndani mwa awa ali waku Mangochi kapena kulilongwe, mzuzu,mzimba,zomba,kasungu,Dedza ,balaka, Machinga kodi ma boma enawa anthu ake ndiwosaphuzila? pandandanda umenewu*_?

  3. That is a strange speach. You want everyone to fall just like you. It is time to put on the collar, go and spread the good word of the Lord which you are trained for sir.

  4. That is a strange speach. You want everyone to fall just like you. It is time to put on the collar, go and spread the good word of the Lord which you are trained for sir.

  5. Kkkkk vomerezani abambo chakwera pa mpikisano pamakhala owina modzi basi

Comments are closed.