Brighton Munthali dropped following Facebook status

Brighton Munthali

…replaced by Charles Thom..

Flames caretaker coach Meke Mwase has dropped Silver Strikers goalkeeper Brighton Munthali following a comment he made after he was dropped to the bench during Malawi’s goalless draw away to Eswatini in the round of 2020 Championship of African Nations (Chan) qualifiers.

Brighton Munthali
Munthali: dropped

Munthali took to his Facebook account and blasted Mwase’ led technical panel for dropping him to the bench.
In his post, he claimed that Mwase’s choice of Kakhobwe was due to the fact that he plays for Nyasa Big Bullets.
Munthali’s comment received mixed reactions, with the majority of soccer loving Malawians questioning his level of maturity.

Now, with the Flames set to regroup on Sunday for the return leg, Mwase has dropped the under 23 goalkeeper and replaced him with Charles Thom, who is also his team-mate at Silver Strikers.

Mwase has also recalled Stain Dave, Schumaker Kuwali, Raphael Phiri and Simeon Singa.

Below is the full squad list:

1. Ernest Kakhobwe – Nyasa Big Bullets
2. Richard Chipuwa – Be Forward Wanderers
3. Rabson Chiyenda – Nyasa Big Bullets
4. Charles Thom – Silver Strikers

5. Stanley Sanudi – Be Forward Wanderers
6. John Lanjesi – Nyasa Big Bullets
7. Peter Cholopi – Be Forward Wanderers
8. Gomezgani Chirwa – Nyasa Big Bullets
9. Denis Chembezi – Be Forward Wanderers
10. Trevor Kalema – Silver Strikers
11. Yamikani Fodya – Nyasa Big Bullets
12. Charles Petro – Nyasa Big Bullets

13. Chikoti Chirwa – Red Lions
14. Alfred Manyozo – Be Forward Wanderers
15. Singa Simeon – Be Forward Wanderers
16. Miciam Mhone – Blue Eagles
17. Felix Zulu – Be Forward Wanderer
18. Mike Mkwate – Nyasa Big Bullets
19. Chimwemwe Idana – Nyasa Big Bullets
20. Raphael Phiri – Civil Sporting Club

21. Stain Davie – TN Stars
22. Khuda Muyaba – Silver Strikers
23. Schumacher Kuwali – Blue Eagles
24. Chiukepo Msowoya – Nyasa Big Bullets
25. Patrick Phiri – Nyasa Big Bullets
26. Gastin Simukonda – Moyale Barracks
27. Zicco Nkanda – Be Forward Wanderers
28. Hassan Kajoke – Nyasa Big Bullets


One Comment

  1. Achita bwino amusiya nyani ameneyo amafuna azizitenga ngati amathanso kapena flames ndi ya amake kupusa mwana wakuda ndi

Comments are closed.