Yabwanya Phiri disqualified from Fa presidential race

Willy Yambwanya Phiri

The Football Association of Malawi (FAM) on Saturday released names of successful candidates vying for various posts for the association’s December 12 polls in Salima.

The interesting part was that of presidency as Willy Yabwanya Phiri, who was nominated by the National Referees Commitee (NRC), was disqualified from the race.

The Fa’ statuses only allows those that have been in the football administration for more than five years to contest for any position at the association.

Willy Yambwanya Phiri
Yambwanya Phiri racing with Nyamilandu.

This means that if Yabwanya Phiri chose not to appeal against the decision in the next seven days, it will be Walter Nyamilandu battling it out with Wilkins Mijiga for the highest position at Chiwembe.

In other positions, the current Fa first vice president will rock horns with the Super League of Malawi (Sulom) treasurer Tiya Somba Banda.

Othaniel Hara will compete with Pikawo Ngalamira for the second vice president seat.

Rashid Mtelera, Daud Mtanthiko, Jabba Alide, Flora Mwandira, Masauko Medi and Gunda will battle it out for the membership position.

However, the electoral body which is being chaired by Judge Sunduzwayo Madise will make official announcement of the succesful candidates on 21 November next week.



  1. if he does not meet the requirements then he must not stand. simple and straight forward .

Comments are closed.